Hyatt Named Semifinalist for 2022 Biletnikoff Award

November 21, 2022

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. announced Monday morning that Tennessee wide receiver Jalin Hyatt is one of 12 semi-finalists for the 2022 Biletnikoff Award.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding FBS receiver of the college football season. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s preeminent receiver, not just college football’s preeminent one wide Recipient.

The junior from Irmo, South Carolina put together a historic 2022 campaign for the Big Orange. Hyatt’s school record of 15 touchdowns leads the FBS, while his 1,181 receiving yards and 107.4 yards per game leads the SEC and ranks third nationally.

A semifinalist for the Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Player of the Year, Hyatt leads the country in five multi-touchdown reception efforts and ranks third nationally in five 100-yard plays. He leads the FBS in 30+ Yard Receiving Plays (14), 40+ Yard Receiving Plays (10), 50+ Yard Plays (6), and 60+ Yard Receiving Plays (4). He has produced more 40-yard receptions this season (10) than 11 SEC teams have recorded as a team.

With six catches for 65 yards this past weekend in South Carolina, Hyatt advanced to second place in UT single-season history by catching yards (1,181) and is 117 yards from tying the program record. His SEC-leading 64 receptions is the eighth most in school history. On the career charts, Hyatt’s 19 touchdowns with Peerless Price is the fourth-highest ever recorded by a Tennessee volunteer.

Hyatt joins three former Vols who were named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists: Joey Kent (1996), Kelley Washington (2001), and Robert Meachem (2006).

The semifinalists, finalists and honorees are selected by the highly respected Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of 610 prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners and other past recipients. Three finalists will be announced on Tuesday, November 29 before the winner is announced on Thursday, December 8 on the Home Depot College Football Awards show, which airs at 8:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

2022 Biletnikoff Prize semi-finalists

Jordan Addison, USC
Brock Bowers, Georgia
Nathaniel Dell, Houston
Josh Downs, North Carolina
Zay Flowers, Boston College
Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State
Xavier Hutchinson, State of Iowa
Jalin HyattTennessee
Quentin Johnston, TCU
Charlie Jones, Purdue
Rashee Rice, SMU
Keylon Stokes, Tulsa