State ‘Snowfighters’ in Northeast Kentucky ready for the winter weather season

FLEMINGSBURG, Kentucky (11/11/2022) – State snowblowers have a message for Mother Nature as the first wintry weather of the season progresses in NE Kentucky – we are ready!

Highway technicians in Kentucky’s Department of Highways District 9 who maintain more than 2,000 miles of state highways in Bath, Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas and Rowan counties have stored and prepared all their salt snow plows and have completed her final training course for the winter weather service just last month.

“Snow removal is a top priority for the transport cabinet, and we have a team of professionals ready to tackle the task when the first flakes fly,” said Steve Gunnell, chief district engineer. “They have the right gear, the right resources, and are always ready to keep motorists moving on the Kentucky streets.”

The right equipment includes more than 75 snow plows, brine tankers and other snow fighting machines. And the right resources include tens of thousands of tons of salt, brine and other ice-breaking materials stored in each of the district’s 10 wards.

Weather observation surveillance teams are now on duty and will call in snow plow and salt truck crews as needed during the Kentucky fall, winter and spring snow season.

When snowstorms hit, crews are assigned 12-hour shifts to prioritize plowing and treating state roads — part of the Cabinet’s mission to keep traffic moving in safe ways, with a focus on maintaining mobility along critical corridors lies.

Priority A routes include critical state roads and the busiest such as freeways or roads to hospitals, which are given the highest priority for snow removal operations. Priority B and C routes include other important but less traveled state routes.

The Cabinet’s snow and ice information website,, provides public information such as snow management status updates, winter driving tips, fact sheets and videos on the snow removal process.

Additionally, the public can monitor winter operations in real time on the state’s interactive transit system – or via the Waze app – to find out what’s happening in each borough.

Nationwide, nearly 2,000 men and women serve on the front lines and behind the scenes of the Cabinet’s snow and ice removal efforts. The cabinet is stocked with several hundred thousand tons of salt, as well as adequate supplies of brine and calcium chloride, and more than 1,000 trucks and plows ready for action among the 125 snow and ice maintenance sites. More than 400 other contract trucks are available to help with snow and ice work.


As a driver, you can also prepare for winter and stay safe during the snow season by following these tips:

  • Pay attention to weather warnings. The weather affects the journey in some way, so prepare to drive at a slower pace.
  • Travel only when necessary during major snow events. It’s better to be stuck at home than stuck on the street.
  • Maintain a safe braking distance from other vehicles; and keep clear of snowploughs.
  • Do not pass snowplows on the hard shoulder.
  • winterizing vehicles. Storage vehicles with blankets, flashlight and an emergency supply kit.
  • Know before you go. Visit and download the free Waze app to check traffic conditions before you travel.
  • Eliminate distractions (e.g. phone calls and eating) while driving.
  • Always wear your seat belt. It’s the law, and it’s the best defense against weather-related accidents.
  • Cooperate with the expectations of the Quick Clearance Act, which requires drivers to move vehicles onto the shoulder without injury in the event of an accident.


Snow removal efforts will begin with priority Routes A and proceed to Routes B and C as rapidly as storm intensity allows. During large storms, it can take many hours to clear lower priority routes, so know your route and plan the trip accordingly.

County Bath: Priority A routes include the I-64, US 60, KY 11 and KY 36. Priority B routes are KY 111, KY 211 and KY 1325. All other routes such as KY 965, KY 1198, KY 1944, KY 3290 etc., are priority C.

Boyd County: Priority A routes include I-64, US 60, US 23, KY 67 (Industrial Parkway), KY 180, and the Ashland and Kenova Bridges. Priority B routes are KY 3, KY 5, KY 168; KY 716, KY 766, KY 1134, KY 1012, KY 1458, KY 3293, KY 3292 and KY 854 in the Summit and Ashland areas; KY 538, KY 3294 and KY 3291 near Cannonsburg and Catlettsburg; and KY 854 by Rush and Garner. Other routes, including KY 752, KY 757, KY 773, KY 966 and KY 1937 in southern Boyd County are Priority C.

Carter County: Priority A routes include I-64, US 60, KY 9 (AA Highway), KY 7 south of Grayson, KY 1 at and north of Grayson, KY 2 at Olive Hill, and KY 67 (Industrial Parkway). Priority B routes include KY 1 south of Grayson, KY 174, and KY 2 and KY 7 through Carter City. Other routes such as KY 182, KY 986, KY 773, KY 207, etc. have priority C.

Elliot County: Priority A routes include KY 7 and KY 173. Priority B routes are KY 32, KY 486, KY 702 and KY 504. Other routes, including KY 706, KY 556, KY 557, KY 755 and the rest, have priority C

County Fleming: Priority A routes include US 68, KY 11, KY 32, KY 57 north of Flemingsburg, the Flemingsburg Bypass and KY 165. Priority B routes are KY 32X, KY 170, KY 111, KY 559, KY 344 and KY 1902. Other routes such as KY 597, KY 158, KY 1013, KY 156, KY 1325, KY 697, etc. have priority C.

Greenup County: Priority A routes include US 23, KY 1, KY 8, KY 10 (AA Highway), KY 67, KY 827 and KY 693. Priority B routes are KY 2, KY 7, KY 5, KY 827, KY 503 and KY 1458. Priority C routes include KY 244, KY 784, KY 207, KY 750, KY 2541, KY 3105 and all others.

Lewis County: Priority A routes include KY 9 and KY 10 (AA Highway), KY 8 near Vanceburg and east, KY 59 and KY 57 south of Tollesboro. Priority B routes are KY 57 north of Tollesboro, KY 10 at Tollesboro, KY 344, KY 559, KY 377, KY 2523 at the schools and KY 3020 (Ave). Other routes such as KY 989, KY 984, KY 8 west of Vanceburg, etc. are priority C.

Mason County: Priority A routes include US 68 and US 68X, KY 8, KY 9 (AA Highway), KY 10, KY 11, KY 2513, KY 2516 and the Harsha Bridge. Priority B routes are US 62, KY 324, KY 1448, KY 1236, KY 2515, KY 3161, KY 1237, KY 3056 and KY 3170. All other routes, including KY 1234 and KY 3313, KY 1449, KY 596, KY 1235 and KY 435 are priority C.

Nicholas County: Priority A routes include US 68, KY 36, and KY 1455. Priority B routes are KY 32 and KY 13. Priority C routes include KY 57, KY 1244, KY 1285, KY 3316, and all others.

Rowan County: Priority A routes include I-64, US 60, KY 519, KY 32, and KY 173. Priority B routes include KY 174, KY 377, KY 801, KY 158, and KY 1274. All other routes, such as . B. KY 1167, KY 799 etc. have priority C.

Visit KYTC online at for an interactive map of priority routes across the state.